RSS Feed

Almost Vegetarian Chili

Posted on

I love chili, from chili made with beef, to veggie chili. I wanted to make a pot for this cold that I have so I was off to the pantry to see what was in there. I found a package of pinto beans and a package of black beans so I thought why not make two bean veggie chili?

So I did not want to make two large pots of beans for my chili so I just made a half cup of each. First I picked through the beans then rinsed them and put them in separate pots. Cooked for about 2 hours then added salt to both of them and combined the two into the bigger pot. I had to add water to the beans as they cooked, maybe next time I will add more water in the beginning. To the pot I added about ½ cup of onions and about 4 cups of chicken stock (that is why it is ‘almost vegetarian’). Then I added 1 tsp. Thyme, ½ tsp. cumin, 1 tablespoon chili powder and some more salt and pepper to taste. To that I added some frozen vegetables (Carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower), 1 8 oz. can tomato sauce (I did not have any diced tomatoes in the pantry), then tasted to see if the seasonings were just right. It was really good but it needed a bit more salt. The pintos and black beans really complement each other. You may want to double the amount of beans, but I wanted just the flavor.

I also decided to try a double apple pie. It has a top and bottom crust and a crust in the middle. I cut out a round of dough and pre baked it in the oven on a baking sheet lined with parchment. Then I put the bottom crust in a deep dish pie plate, and poured in caned pie filling that I doctored up a bit with a little more sugar and cinnamon. I layered some of the pie filling, then placed the baked round of dough on top of that then more filling and topped with the top crust. Here is a picture, can you see the extra crust layer?

6 responses »

  1. This pie looks soooooooooooooooo good! The crust so flaky! I could use a piece now!! 🙂 And love the pintos and black beans for the chili! 🙂 Ally

    Reply
  2. I want some of that pie too! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Your apple pie came out Perfect! Love it!! Post more food recipes! Nettie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

