RSS Feed

Shredded Beef Tacos with Home Made Pico de Gallo

Posted on

I have been craving a good taco for a few days and so I decided to head over to the store and get a few things to make some. I have never made them before so I was wondering if they would come out OK.

They were so good along with my own pico de gallo and a bit of shredded Monterey jack cheese.

I wanted these to be low fat so I used a lower fat tortilla and low fat Monterey jack but you could not taste the difference. I normally would have used whole wheat tortillas but I could not find any in the small taco size. The beef was a bit bland (After all it WAS my first time making them) but after adding a little more salt they were fine. Next time I will have to double the seasonings that I used.

I used a London Broil (OK out here in California they label it a London Broil but it is actually a top round steak)because I read that it is a cut that is very similar to Flank or skirt. I cut some small pockets in the beef and inserted a slice of garlic into each pocket and then I drizzled some olive oil on both sides and seasoned the whole thing with a mixture of chili powder, salt, freshly ground black pepper, cumin and parsley flakes. It was well seasoned but because I cooked it in the crock pot all day it needed way more seasoning. I would do the same thing next time but then add more of the same seasonings after I got it into the crock pot. I put it in a shallow dish and added some chopped onion, cilantro and 2 jalapeño-seeded and diced. Then I drizzled some lime juice over it and put it in the refrigerator. The next morning it went into the crock on low and cooked all day.

When I cut up the large onion I used only half and saved half for my Pico de Gallo. This is so easy to make it is just some chopping and dicing but I let the food processor do all that work. For my Muy bueno! Pico de gallo I use 5 roma tomatoes (also known as Plumb) seeds removed, half a large white onion, half a bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped, 1 jalapeño, seeds and veins removed, 2 cloves of garlic and about 2 tablespoons lime juice. Put it all in the food processor and pulse until chopped.

Sometimes I think my stomach really controls me and that is not good. When the Israelites were led out of Egypt and into the desert God fed them with manna so that they would know that they did not live by bread alone but by every Word that proceeds out of the mouth of God: And he humbled you and let you hunger and fed you with manna, which you did not know, nor did your fathers know, that he might make you know that man does not live by bread alone, but man lives by every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD. (Deut. 8:3 ESV)

The key is to eat well but also to read the Word every day. It is just as important to be spiritually fed as it is to be physically fed.

Here is the recipe for Tim’s Muy Bueno! Shredded Beef Tacos:

1 London broil (Top Round Steak)

1 tsp cumin

1 cloves of garlic, sliced thin

¼ tsp freshly ground black pepper

½ tsp salt

½ tsp parsley flakes

½ tsp chili powder

¼ cup lime juice

½ large white onion, chopped

2 jalapeño’s seeded

½ bunch cilantro, chopped

Taco size whole wheat or low fat tortillas

8 oz. low fat Monterey Jack cheese

1 avocado, chopped

Cut small pockets in meat and place a slice of garlic in each one. Drizzle with olive oil and rub in on all sides of meat, combine seasonings and liberally apply to meat on both sides reserving half.

Place in shallow dish and add the onion and cilantro then pour the lime juice over the vegetables. Place in the refrigerator the night before.

Put into Crock Pot and add the rest of the seasonings, set on low and let cook 6 to 8 hours.

Remove meat from Crock pot and shred using two forks. Remove juices from Crock pot and mix into shredded meat.

To serve warm tortillas and place some of the meat on the tortilla and top with cheese, then add some pico de gallo and some chopped avocado, fold and enjoy!

5 responses »

  1. Sounds delicious. I’ve been thinking since some time last year that we need to get a crock pot.

    Reply
  2. Tim! I love your new blog…much more asthetically appealing and easier to use! Great job, and the tacos look/sound awesome!!! 🙂 Ally

    Reply
  3. Looks yummy the less fat the better. I like the setup of your blog here better too. Much easier on the eyes etc

    Reply

Leave a Reply

